Rupa Jolly DDS and Christy Ross Join Board of Directors

Volunteers of America Southeast Louisiana welcomes new board members Christy Ross and Dr. Rupa Jolly, DDS.

“We are so honored to have Christy Ross and Rupa Jolly join our Board of Directors. They have expressed such an interest in the mission of Volunteers of America, and I know they will touch the lives of so many people in a valuable way through their service with our organization,” said James M. LeBlanc, President and CEO of Volunteers of America Southeast Louisiana.

Rupa Jolly received her doctorate in dental surgery from Louisiana State University School of Dentistry in 2003. She spends her time as a community activist involved in many local organizations and is deeply interested in creating positive change, starting with the youth of our community.

Christy Ross is the Vice President for Health Grants at Baptist Community Ministries and brings more than 10 years of administrative, fiscal and programming expertise in the healthcare services sector. She has held numerous leadership positions within the public health arena and is passionate about initiatives that have the potential to change systems and impact policy.

“For years, Volunteers of America has served those with greatest need. As a public health practitioner, I understand the complex challenges our community faces and the need for community-based organizations to step up and offer a helping hand,” said Ross. “Volunteers of America has been a longstanding source of support and comfort for our community.”

In addition to new members Christy Ross and Rupa Jolly, board members M. Isabel Barrios, Nathan J. Junius and Chanel Lagarde were reelected to three-year terms and board member Lenny D. Simmons, Jr. was reelected to a one-year term. All board officers were reelected to their positions for a one-year term.

The Volunteers of America Southeast Louisiana 2018-2109 Board of Directors is comprised of M. Isabel Barrios; Nathan J. Junius; David Konur; Fred H. Myers; Leonard D. Simmons, Jr.; Lynn Swanson; Chuck Viator; and James M. LeBlanc, president and CEO. Board officers for the 2018-2019 term include Geoffrey C. Artigues, chair; Christy M. Howley Connois, chair-elect; Chanel Lagarde, secretary; Tod Smith, treasurer; and Wayne Baquet Jr., immediate past chair.